The Ohio State University at Marion

Ohio State Marion honors seven at inaugural Alumni Hall of Fame induction ceremony

November 9, 2022
Ohio State Marion honors seven at inaugural Alumni Hall of Fame induction ceremony

The Ohio State University at Marion recently inducted seven members into its Alumni Hall of Fame during an inaugural ceremony held Thursday, November 3, at 6 p.m. in Maynard Hall's Guthery Community Room. The awards program honored outstanding alumni who have contributed significantly to their profession, the campus, and the community.

The event, which was initially planned for spring of 2020, was postponed for two-years due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The event encompassed 3 years of inductees and was attended by family, friends, campus faculty and staff, as well as university dignitaries. President and CEO of The Ohio State University Alumni Association, Molly Ranz-Calhoun served as guest speaker for the evening’s event.

The most recent of the evening’s seven honorees, 2022 Alumni Hall of Fame inductee Dr. Heidi Ries graduated summa cum laude with a bachelor’s degree in physics from The Ohio State University. Ries completed her Ph.D. at Old Dominion University. Following other pioneering roles at the United States Air Force Institute of Technology, including serving as dean for research, she is now its chief academic officer for the United States Air Force Institute of Technology where she is charged with overseeing and ensuring the highest standards of academic quality in both graduate and professional continuing education instruction and research.

During Ries comments, she shared the challenges of being one of very few women studying science at the time she attended Ohio State but felt starting out at Ohio State Marion gave her an advantage. She also shared her sentiments on the impact of Ohio State Marion faculty and how that helped launch her career.

“Coupled with the outstanding faculty members I interacted with, Dr. Aubrecht and Dr. Steffel, those experiences enabled me to gain the confidence to be in the room with other scientists and engineers and be successful,” she said.

“It is a whole lot different to be here as one of 10 to 15 for those experiences, and learning from a faculty member like Dr. Gordon Aubrecht, who you may not be aware, was named a physics teacher of the year by the American Association of Physics Teachers. So, that type of national award gives you a sense of what an outstanding teacher he was, which enabled me to, in some small part, to carry that into the classroom when I was a physics teacher,” added Ries.

2021 inductee Roger George started at Ohio State Marion in 1968 and was part of the first class to use the newly opened Morrill Hall. A lifelong resident of Marion, George started his teaching career in Marion and continued his work in the community until he retired in 2015. He represents Ohio State Marion on The Ohio State University Alumni Advisory Council in Columbus.

During his acceptance speech, George reminisced about his time at Ohio State Marion hanging out at Campus Pizza Chef and how there was not much else was available on SR 95 during that time. He also recalled while on campus students having activities at the local YMCA and he attended his first Ohio State football game during his time on campus. He also remembered how much he enjoyed the faculty that taught at Ohio State Marion.

“Most of all I had great instructors here. I really did. I had a good experience,” George opined.

2020 marked the first year for the Ohio State Marion Alumni Hall of Fame, which included the selection of one inductee from each of the first five decades the campus has been opened.

2020 inductee Larry Cline, who was inducted posthumously, attended Ohio State Marion in 1966 and served as the campus’s first student government president. After graduating, Cline was a proud farmer and community supporter, serving Ohio State Marion as a trustee.

2020 inductee Gary Sims attended Ohio State Marion from 1976-1977 and went on to become the CEO of Sims Brothers Recycling. Since that time, Sims and his family have established scholarships to benefit Ohio State Marion students and have provided financial support for the campus in other ways.

2020 inductee Dr. Russell Tuttle attended Ohio State Marion in the late 1950’s and is highly regarded in the fields of anthropology and evolutionary biology. He has mentored graduate, undergraduate, and medical students, many of whom are leaders in their respective professions, for over 50 years.

2020 Hall of Fame inductees Dr. Andrew Vick extolled the benefits of attending Ohio State Marion.

“Marion campus is a great blessing for many of the reasons other people already highlighted,” Vick said. “The benefits of a small community campus – you have small class sizes; and you interact with the faculty who are really passionate about their vocation.”

“You have a community that doesn’t just stay with you for that period, but really stays with you for the rest of your life,” he added.

“Why I am so thankful is that you gained in experience, you gained in confidence, you gained in community. Can you think of a better foundation by which to grow and be fearless,” said Vick. “I really attribute and acknowledge a lot of that great gift.”

Vick attended Ohio State Marion from 1989-1991 and went on to earn his Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Chemistry. Vick is the Head of Toxicology, Drug Disposition, and PKPD at Attralus Therapeutics and serves as President of the Board of The Ohio State University’s College of Pharmacy among other appointments.

2020 inductee Dr. Deidre Radosevich thanked all of those who have supported her through her educational and life journey.

Radosevich said, “I wanted to thank my parents for continuing to push me and to go beyond my dreams and keep going after it, my husband for his wonderful support. I have my two daughters here who I hope I continue to be a great role model for you, and I hope to continue to make you proud.”

Radosevich completed her undergraduate degree at Ohio State Marion, graduating with honors in 2002. She is a licensed psychologist and works in both academics at University of Wisconsin-Green Bay and private practice at Bay Center Therapy/Mindful Path Center.

The nomination period for the 2023 Ohio State Marion Alumni Hall of Fame will start on April 3 and end May 26, 2023. If you have questions about nominations, please contact the Development & Community Relations Office at 740-725-6340.