The Ohio State University at Marion

Faculty Staff Awards & Honors

Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching

The Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching annually recognizes a maximum of ten faculty members for their teaching excellence. Students, faculty, and alumni may nominate faculty; and a committee of students, previous recipients, and alumni chooses the recipients. Recipients are recognized with a $3,000 honorarium made possible by gifts from The Ohio State University Alumni Association, University Advancement, and the Office of Academic Affairs. In addition, the Office of Academic Affairs awards an increase of $1,200 to each recipient’s base salary. Members are also inducted into the Academy of Teaching:

2014 - Warren Benson McCorkle Jr., Professor, Department of English
2009 - David H. Steigerwald, Associate Professor, Department of History
2008 - Bishun D. Pandey, Professor, Department of Mathematics
2008 - Tracy L. Tylka, Associate Professor, Department of Psychology
2007 - Franklin Proaño, Professor, Department of Comparative Studies in the Humanities
2005 - Anne L. Bower, Associate Professor, Department of English
2003 - Teresa M. Mensing , Associate Professor, Department of Geological Sciences
1999 - R. Vladimir Steffel - Department of History
1998 - Scott DeWitt - Department of English
1996 - Stuart Lishan - Department of English
1996 - Franklin Proano - Department of Comparative Studies
1995 - Timothy McNiven - Department of Art History
1995 - Terry Pettijohn - Department of Psychology
1994 - Daniel J. Christie - Department of Psychology

President and Provost's Award for Distinguished Faculty Service

The President and Provost's Award for Distinguished Faculty Service honors faculty members whose contributions to the development and implementation of university policies and programs through non-administrative roles have been extensive and have made documentable impact on the quality of the university. The recipients also have continued to provide effective teaching and have maintained an active program of research, scholarship, or creative work. Recipients are nominated by members of the university community and selected by a committee of faculty, administrators, and previous recipients. They receive both a cash award of $3,000 and an increase of $1,200 to their base salaries from the Office of Academic Affairs.

2013 - Brian W. McEnnis, Professor, Department of Mathematics
2008 - Gordon J. Aubrecht, II, Professor, Department of Physics

Distinguished Service Award

Alumni and other friends of The Ohio State University are a passionate lot. They remember their Ohio State ties, serving as ambassadors of the university around the world. But a handful of alumni, retired faculty and administrators, and friends who have forged connections with the university truly stand out. It is for this outstanding group that university trustees established the Distinguished Service Award in 1952.

2012 - Trella Hemmerly Romine

University Distinguished Staff Award

The Distinguished Staff Award recognizes 12 staff members, who have had five years of continuous service, for exceptional accomplishments, leadership, and service to the university community by significantly improving or enhancing the quality of worklife in ways that make a substantial difference for their colleagues; contributing to outstanding and sustained improvements in customer services; and developing creative solutions to problems that result in significantly more effective and efficient university operations. The Office of Human Resources awards honorees a $1,500 cash award and a $700 increase to their base salary.

2015 - Karen Carroll, Chief Fiscal Officer
2009 - Lynda Behan, Director, Academic Enrichment Program
2008 - Louis Hominga, Academic Program Coordinator
2003 - Leslie A. Beyer-Hermsen, Assistant Dean
1991 - Ronald A. Turner, Director of Facilities & Maintenance

State-Wide Faculty Awards

2016 - Excellence in Mathematics and Mathematics Education Teaching at the College-level - Aina K. Appova, Ph. D, Assistant Professor of Mathematics Education

Marion Campus Teaching Award

This award honors two faculty members – one regular faculty member and one associated faculty member – for excellence in teaching. Chosen by the faculty, the recipient of this award is not announced until the awards program.

Regular Faculty:
2021 - Renee Bouley
2020 - Margaret Sumner
2019 - Ruben Petreaca
2018 - Ryan Yoder
2017 - Chris Friesen
2016 - Sara Crosby
2015 - Terry Pettijohn
2014 - Nikole Patson
2013 - Stuart Lishan
2012 - Donna Bobbit-Zeher

Associated Faculty:
2021 - Kumar Vijay Garapati
2020 - Teri Kinsway
2019 - Tiffiny Rye-McCurdy
2018 - Sue Oakes
2017 - Patricia Muir
2016 - Adam Matthews
2015 - Susan Braumiller
2014 - Craig Franze
2013 - Amy Tibbals
2012 - Michael Lohre

Griffin Honor Society Award

This award from the Griffin Honor Society, an honors and social organization that encourages academic excellence and success through participation in Honors Program classes and activities in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, recognizes superior undergraduate teaching by a senior lecturer, lecturer, instructor, or teaching associate at The Ohio State University Marion.

2021 - none awarded
2020 - Zuheir Alidib
2019 - Tracy Tylka
2018 - Mostafa Elsaadany
2017 - Daniel Wojta
2016 - Michael Lohre
2015 - Amy Tibbals
2014 - Lindy Wells
2013 - Jeff Turner
2012 - Scott Fisher
2011 - Adam Matthews
2010 - John D. Emens
2006 - Michael Lohre
2005 - Zak Nyongesa
2000 - Syvia Avila

Outstanding Staff Award

This award is presented annually to one Marion Campus staff member in recognition of exceptional accomplishments, leadership, and service to the campus.

2021 - Bryan Sickmiller
2020 - Sharon Gattshall
2019 - Leslie Beary
2018 - Chris Trapp
2017 - Joe Zhou
2016 - Gary Iams
2015 - Charles Rager
2014 - Lynda Ross
2013 - Cheri King
2012 - Barbara Kaelber
2011 - Karin Lanius
2010 - Dan Aquino
2009 - Carol Bowman
2008 - Cathy McClain
2007 - Louis Hominga
2006 - Lynda Behan