The Ohio State University at Marion

​Local students win $13,500 in scholarships at math challenge

May 9, 2022
​Local students win $13,500 in scholarships at math challenge

(Marion) One test plus 180 students from 6 local schools equals $13,500 in scholarship funds awarded at the annual OSU MTC Marion Math Competition held on the campus of The Ohio State University at Marion and Marion Technically College, Friday, May 6th. A total of 180 students from 6 area middle schools (Elgin, Highland, North Union, Pleasant, Ridgedale and River Valley) came to the Marion campus to compete.

“What a sweet reward for a morning’s worth of work ,” said Dr. Ryan McCall, president of Marion Tech. “These students have a bright future! We are proud to help them get to next!”
Marion Technical College and The Ohio State University at Marion each awarded the first-place winner $1,000. The second-place winners earned $750 from each institution. The third-place winner in each grade level was awarded $500 from each college.

“Mathematics is crucial skill,” said Ohio State Marion Dean and Director, Gregory S. Rose. “Congratulations on taking on the challenge of excelling in mathematics. This will serve you well in the future.”

In addition to congratulating the participants and the winners, Marion Tech and Ohio State Marion would like to thank the Wm. Kay Davis Foundation for providing all trophies and awards. Committee members who work organize the event, write the test, calculate the winners and prepare practice tests include: Micah Chrisman, Assistant Professor of Mathematics at Ohio State Marion; David Gorenflo, Tech Prep Consultant at Marion Tech; John Maharry, Professor of Mathematics at Ohio State Marion; Tyler Maley, Director of Mathematics and Natural Sciences at Marion Tech; Brian McEnnis, Professor of Mathematics Emeritus at Ohio State University Marion; and Sally O’Connor, Adjunct Faculty at Marion Tech; and Scott Zimmerman, Assistant Professor of Mathematics at Ohio State Marion.

“It’s exciting to see students compete starting in middle school,” Gorenflo said. “We love being able to recognize and reward these top students and we hope to see them year after year.”

6th Grade
1st Place: Nevin Zerby - Highland Middle School
2nd Place: Lane Johnson - Pleasant Middle School
3rd Place: Evan Anderson - Ridgedale Middle School

7th Grade
1st Place: Josiah Kramp - Pleasant Middle School
2nd Place: Brady Werling - Pleasant Union Middle School
3rd Place: Carter Glick - North Union Middle School

8th Grade
1st Place: Brogan Weston - Ridgedale Middle School
2nd Place: Robert Cox - Pleasant Middle School
3rd Place: Jacob Gasmire - River Valley Middle School


These include the top scorers from each school from all grades. The students received individual medals and the school received a trophy. The name with the highest score is listed first.

1st Place: Pleasant Middle School - Team members include Josiah Kramp, 7th grade; Robert Cox, 8th grade; Brady Werling, 7th grade; Olivia Meyers, 8th grade; Niluh Squires, 7th grade ; and Jacob Meyers, 7th grade

2nd Place: River Valley Middle School - Team members include Jacob Gasmire, 8th grade; Elise Osborne, 8th grade; Ellis McFarland, 7th grade; Ariana Osborne, 8th grade; Jack Corrodi, 7th grade; and Phoebe Klenzman, 7th grade

3rd Place: Highland Middle School - Leah Richards, 8th grade; Owen Winkelfoos, 8th grade; Tycho Arnett-Tomasek, 7th grade; Zane Granger 8th grade; Kasey Clark, 7th grade; and Nevin Zerby, 6th grade