The Ohio State University at Marion

Ohio State Marion Board


Anne Cole was appointed to the Marion campus board in 2010 and currently serves as the board chair. She is the Sr. Vice President of United Bank, Division of the Park National Bank serving Crawford and Marion counties.

An active community member, Ms. Cole chairs the Crawford County 20/20 Vision Committee, serves as vice chair for the Bucyrus Community Improvement Corporation, and is an active Bucyrus Rotary Club member. She is also past president of the boards of trustees of the Bucyrus Area United Way, Bucyrus Salvation Army, Bucyrus Rotary Club, and Junior Achievement of North Central Ohio.

A graduate of Colonel Crawford High School, Ms. Cole has degree in economics management from Ohio Wesleyan University, an MBA from Ashland University, and a graduate degree in banking from the American Bankers Association.

Anne and her husband Joe reside on the family farm outside Bucyrus with their son.


Thomas Frericks was named to the Ohio State Marion Board in 2014.

Frericks is a graduate of the The Ohio State University College of Law and has been an attorney with the law firm of Frericks and Howard since 1971. He is chairman of the Marion General Hospital Foundation board of trustees and secretary of the Marion Palace Theater Endowment Fund board of trustees. He is a past president of the Marion Rotary Club and former chairman of the Marion County Board of Elections.

He and his wife, Patricia, have three adult sons.

Lynn Oliver Garvin was appointed to the Ohio State Marion Board in 2003. Garvin is a native of Bay Village, Ohio, and a graduate of Ohio Wesleyan University, with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Education.

A dedicated community volunteer, Garvin has served on the boards of directors of Junior Service Guild, The Marion Association for Gifted Students, The Marion Education Foundation, The Continuous Improvement Committee of the Marion City Schools, and as Vice President of Harding Music Parents. She was selected as Volunteer of the Year for the State of Ohio PTA. Garvin also serves as Chair of the Administrative Council and Lay Delegate of Epworth United Methodist Church. She currently serves on the Regional Club Council Advisory Committee at The Ohio State University.

Lynn and her husband Charlie have 3 adult children. In their spare time, they breed and show Dalmatian show dogs, and have bred 90 AKC Champions. She serves as the AKC Delegate for The Marion Ohio Kennel Club.

Daryl Gates was named to the Ohio State Marion Board in 2011.

Gates is the president/CEO of Morral Companies, LLC, Morral, Ohio. He serves as the treasurer of Marion General Hospital and the Marion Chamber of Commerce, and is a member of Marion Rotary Club, Marion County Farm Bureau, The Fertilizer Institute and the Fluid Fertilizer Foundation.

He has a degree in finance from The Ohio State University. He and his wife, Valerie, have four adult sons.

David Hypes, D.D.S was chair to the Ohio State Marion Board in 2012.

Hypes is a two-time graduate of The Ohio State University ('78, '81) and has practiced dentistry in Marion, Ohio since 1981. He is a member of the American Dental Association, and past president of both the Ohio Dental Association and Marion Academy of Dentistry. In addition, Hypes is a member of the American Orthodontic Association and a past delegate to the Ohio Dental Association General Assembly.

David and his wife Lisa reside in Marion. They have two adult children.

Stephen Keen was named to the Ohio State Marion Board in June of 2007.

Keen is Assistant Vice President of First Federal of Ohio, serving as manager of both the Mt. Gilead and Cardington offices. A resident of Galion, he is involved with several financial literacy programs in the Morrow County area teaching finances and economics in several local schools. In addition, he is the current treasurer of the Morrow County United Way Board, president of Morrow County Board of DD, past president of Morrow County Kiwanis, YMCA Advisory Board, Morrow County Revolving Loan Board, SBDC Board, Masonic Lodge member, and active member in the Morrow County Chamber.

Keen received an Associate Degree in Business Management from Marion Technical College and is a graduate of Northmor High School.

David Miller was named to the Ohio State Marion Board in 2014.

Miller is currently the vice president of operations of OhioHealth Marion Area Physicians. Before that, he served as executive director of the Smith Clinic for 23 years. He is a board member for the Marion Chamber of Commerce and Marion United Way, treasurer of Marion Rotary, and district chairman of Boy Scouts.

He has a degree in accounting from The Ohio State University and is a Certified Public Accountant.

Jessica Moon was named to the Ohio State Marion Board in 2014. She is currently the vice-chair.

Moon has been an associate attorney with Roth & Bacon Attorney's, LLC, in Upper Sandusky since 2010. Before that, she was an assistant city prosecutor in the Columbus City Attorney's Office. Moon is the founder of Wyandot County Young Professionals, Inc. and a board member of WeCARE for Students, Inc.

She received her law degree from Capital University in 2007.

Curtis Sybert was named to the Ohio State Marion Board in 2016.

Sybert has been a partner with Scherner Sybert & Rhoad, LLC, in Powell since 2003. Prior to that, he was a partner at Decker, Vonau, Sybert, Lackey & Viets Co, LPA. He also currently serves as Chairman of the Board for the Delaware County Finance Authority.

He earned his undergraduate degree from The Ohio State University before earning his law degree from Capital University.

Chris Daddis is the faculty representative to The Ohio State University at Marion Board. He received his human development and family studies from Cornell University. He received his M.A. and Ph.D. in developmental psychology from the University of Rochester. He is currently an associate professor of psychology at The Ohio State University at Marion, where he has been teaching since 2004.

His research interests include adolescent development, moral development, childhood psychology, and educational psychology.

Bayli Sanders is the student representative of the Ohio State Marion Board for the current academic year.

Bayli is a Freshman at Ohio State Marion, studying chemistry. She is a Buckeye Ambassador, as well a member of science club and Spanish club.

She is a native of Bryan, Ohio.