The Ohio State University at Marion


Student Organizations

Student Organizations at Ohio State provide students a wide range of opportunities to get involved. Student organizations have a significant impact in providing effective learning environments for students, preparing them to live in a multicultural society and work in a global community.

In addition to building lasting friendships, student organizations provide many benefits including serving as a medium for academic discourse, personal growth, leadership development, intercultural understanding and community service. Moreover, research suggests that involved students tend to perform better academically and are more likely to graduate when compared with their non-involved peers.



Below is a list of clubs / organizations you may be interesting in checking out.
If you don't see an organization for your area of interest, contact Karen Leuthold about starting a club.

∗ Active Minds: Advisor Leslie Beary at beary.4@osu.edu. This student club is designed to destigmatized mental illness.

∗ Men of African Descent: Advisor Shawn Jackson at jackson.368@osu.edu. A support group for African American male students at the Ohio State Marion Campus.

∗ Arabic Club: Advisor Zuheir Alidib at alidib.1@osu.edu. This student club celebrates the Arabic language and culture.

∗ Astronomy & Physics Club: Advisor Chris Orban at orban.14@osu.edu. This club is for students interested in astronomy and physics.

∗ Biology & Chemistry Club: Advisors Ryan Yoder at yoder.157@osu.edu and Bob Klips at klips.1@osu.edu. This group reaches out to students who are interested in studying biology and chemistry.

∗ Campus Activity Board: Advisors Karen Leuthold at leuthold.12@osu.edu and Shannon Niedzwicki at niedzwickis@mtc.edu. This group helps plan and facilitate events on campus for students.

∗ CCO Marion Christian Fellowship: Advisor Karen Leuthold at leuthold.12@osu.edu. This is the Marion Campus Christian fellowship group.

∗ Computer Science Club: Advisor Golrokh Mirzaei at mirzaei.4@osu.edu. This club is for student who want to share their knowledge about computer science.

∗ Democrat Club: Advisors Whitney Franklin at franklin.416@osu.edu and Nathan Wallace at Wallace.419@osu.edu. This group is for students who are affiliated with the Democratic Party on the Marion Campus.

∗ East Asian cultural Club: Advisor Louis Hominga at hominga.1@osu.edu. This group explores the culture of East Asia through anime, food, and other activities.

∗ Le Cercle Français: Advisor Zuheir Alidib at alidib.1@osu.edu. This student club celebrates the French language and culture.

∗ Gaming Guild: Advisor Ben McCorkle at mccorkle.12@osu.edu. This student club comes together to have fun with video and board games.

∗ Griffin Society: Advisor Joel Barker at barker.246@osu.edu. This student club is for students who what to heighten their sense of learning through academic talks and activities.

∗ India Club: Advisor Bishun Pandey at pandey.1@osu.edu. This club is for students who want to celebrate the culture of India.

∗ Kapow: Advisor Stuart Lishan at lishan.1@osu.edu. This student club is for students who want to share their love of creative writing.

∗ Moccasins Club: Advisor Mike Lohre at lohre.1@osu.edu. This a sustainability club for students who are interested in taking care of the environment.

∗ Music Festival Club: Advisor Tom Marshall at marshall.584@osu.edu. This student club celebrates music festivals.

∗ Muslim Student Association: Advisor Zuheir Alidib at alidib.1@osu.edu. This group provides support and a place to connect with other Muslim students on the Marion campus.

∗ OutLoud: Advisors Donna Bobbitt-Zeher at bobbitt-zeher.1@osu.edu and Julie Prince at prince.109@osu.edu. This student group provides support for LGBTQ students and connections with straight allies.

∗ Psychology Club: Advisors Chris Daddis at daddis.1@osu.edu and Beth Fohl-Bailey at fohlbailey.1@osu.edu. This club is for any student interested in the subject of psychology or the psychology major.

∗ Photography Club: Advisor Scott Page at page.250@osu.edu. This club is for students interested in exploring the art of photography.

∗ Republican Club: Advisor Bryan Sickmiller at sickmiller.2@osu.edu and Shannon Niedzwicki at niedzwickis@mtc.edu. This is the student club for Republican affiliated students.

∗ Rotaract Club: Advisors Dave Claborn at Claborn.17@osu.edu and Wayne Rowe at Rowe.31@osu.edu. This club allows college students to connect with the National Rotary Club and to get involved in the community by volunteering on service projects.

∗ Soccer Club: Advisor Zuheir Alidib at alidib.1@osu.edu. This club provides opportunity for students to play soccer as a club sport.

∗ Sociology and Criminology Club: Advisors Donna Bobbitt-Zeher at bobbitt-zeher.1@osu.edu and Marianna Klochko at klochko.1@osu.edu. This club is for students studying sociology and criminology at Ohio State Marion.

∗ Social Work Club: Advisors Leslie Beary at beary.4@osu.edu and Teri Kinsway at kinsway.1@osu.edu. This club is for students who are studying social work at Ohio State Marion.

∗ Spanish Club: Advisor Luzmila Camacho-Platero at camacho-platero.2@osu.edu. This club is for students who want to celebrate the Spanish language or culture.

∗ Study Break: Advisor Shellie Shirk at shirk.20@osu.edu. This is a student publication for the Ohio State Marion Campus.

∗ Swahili Club: Advisor Zak Nyongesa at Nyongesa.1@osu.edu. This is for any student interested in celebrating the Swahili culture.

∗ Undergraduate Student Government: Advisor Lynda Behan at behan.4@osu.edu. For students who want to get involved in policy and represent student voices at Ohio State Marion.

∗ Veterans of Marion Campus: Advisors Leslie Beary at beary.4@osu.edu and Sharon Gattshall at gattshall.2@osu.edu. This club offers support and fun activities for veterans who are students on the Marion Campus.