The Ohio State University at Marion


Student Organizations

Student Organizations at Ohio State provide students a wide range of opportunities to get involved. Student organizations have a significant impact in providing effective learning environments for students, preparing them to live in a multicultural society and work in a global community.

In addition to building lasting friendships, student organizations provide many benefits including serving as a medium for academic discourse, personal growth, leadership development, intercultural understanding and community service. Moreover, research suggests that involved students tend to perform better academically and are more likely to graduate when compared with their non-involved peers.



Student Organization Directory (Click Here to Expand)

Below is a list of clubs / organizations you may be interesting in checking out.
If you don't see an organization for your area of interest, contact Karen Leuthold about starting a club.

∗ Active Minds: Advisor Leslie Beary at beary.4@osu.edu. Active Minds is a national group with chapters on numerous campuses focused on reducing the stigma and changing the perception about mental health.

* American Sign Language Club: Advisor: Emily Fermier at fermier.3@osu.edu. This club is for students who are interested in learning American Sign Language and furthering their knowledge and experience with American Sign Language culture.

∗ Men of African Descent: Advisor Shawn Jackson at jackson.368@osu.edu. The Men of African Descent is a support group for African American male students on the Ohio State Marion Campus. This club engages in dialogue that explores networking and navigation of higher education in the context of race and ethnicity.

∗ Arabic Club: Advisor Zuheir Alidib at alidib.1@osu.edu. The Arabic Club explores the richness of the Arabic culture and is open to anyone interested in the Arabic language, literature, travel, and participation in social/cultural activities that explore Arabic heritage and customs.

∗ Biology & Chemistry Club: Advisors Dr. Ryan Yoder at yoder.157@osu.edu. This group reaches out to students who are interested in learning more about the subjects of biology and chemistry through guest lectors, movies, and various other activities.

∗ Campus Activity Board: Advisors Karen Leuthold at leuthold.12@osu.edu and Shannon Niedzwicki at niedzwickis@mtc.edu. This student club is for any student who is interested in planning and facilitating fun, free, social activities for Marion campus students.

∗ CCO Marion Christian Fellowship: Advisor Karen Leuthold at leuthold.12@osu.edu. The CCO Marion Christian Fellowship is an interdenominational Christian group that works to meet the spiritual needs of students on the Ohio State Marion campus. CCO Marion Christian Fellowship hosts a weekly Bible study and a variety of other activities that foster a sense of community with their members.

∗ Computer Science Club: Advisor Dr. Golrokh Mirzaei at mirzaei.4@osu.edu. The Computer Science Club takes a collaborative approach to exploring and learning new aspects of this field and is open to all students interested in the field of computer science.

∗ Democrat Club: Advisors Dr. Whitney Franklin at franklin.416@osu.edu and Dr. Nathan Wallace at Wallace.419@osu.edu. This group is for Marion students who are affiliated with the democratic party and want to get involved in the national and local political process.

∗ East Asian Cultural Club: Advisor Louis Hominga at hominga.1@osu.edu. This group explores the culture of East Asia through anime, food, and other activities.

∗ Engineering Club: Advisor Dr. Qudsia Tahmina at tahmina.1@osu.edu. The Engineering Club’s aim is to provide further exploration into the professional field of engineering and give students a glimpse at the different opportunities an engineering degree provides.

∗ Le Cercle Français: Advisor Dr. Zuheir Alidib at alidib.1@osu.edu. This club is for students who are interested in expanding their knowledge, language skills, traveling, and participating in social/cultural activities that explore the French traditions and customs.

∗ Gaming Guild: Advisor Dr. Ben McCorkle at mccorkle.12@osu.edu. This group gathers students together who share a common interest of video and board games for friendly competition on campus.

∗ German Club: Advisors: Dr. Amy Strawser at strawser.22@osu.edu; Dr. Nathan Wallace at wallace.419@osu.edu. The German Club is for anyone who wants to experience German culture through forms of movies, T.V series, books, and music.

∗ Griffin Society: Advisor Dr. Joel Barker at barker.246@osu.edu. The Griffin Society is an honors organization that encourages academic excellence and success through participation in honors classes, lunch and learn lectures, and other activities.

∗ India Club: Advisor Dr. Vladimir Steffel at steffel.1@osu.edu. This club is for students who are interested in learning and celebrating the culture of India through traveling to India, tasting India food, and learning about Indian traditions and customs.

∗ Kapow: Advisor Dr. Stuart Lishan at lishan.1@osu.edu. This is an organization for students who are passionate about writing. Students come together to share, listen, and give feedback on poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction written by their fellow classmates.

∗ Moccasins Club: Advisor Dr. Mike Lohre at lohre.1@osu.edu. The Moccasins Club is for students who are passionate about taking care of the environment through a variety of sustainability practices and creating a more environmentally friendly campus.

∗ Muslim Student Association: Advisor Dr. Zuheir Alidib at alidib.1@osu.edu. The MSA is a student organization that seeks to introduce and familiarize the campus with the Islamic culture by engaging with Muslims and non-Muslims students. This organization hopes to bring together Muslims of diverse backgrounds and cultures under one unified, organized, proactive club and engage in community service.

∗ OutLoud: Advisors Dr. Donna Bobbitt-Zeher at bobbitt-zeher.1@osu.edu and Julie Prince at prince.109@osu.edu. As Ohio State Marion’s LGBTQ student organization, OutLoud aims to provide a safe space for LGBTQ students and allies. OutLoud allows for students to socialize, find a supportive community, and discuss relevant campus issues.

∗ Psychology Club: Advisors Dr. Chris Daddis at daddis.1@osu.edu and Dr. Beth Fohl-Bailey at fohlbailey.1@osu.edu. This club is for any student interested in the subject of psychology or the psychology major. The psychology club also provides a place for psychology students to socialize and learn more about their vocational options.

∗ Republican Club: Advisor Bryan Sickmiller at sickmiller.2@osu.edu and Shannon Niedzwicki at niedzwickis@mtc.edu. The Republican Club is for any student who wants to be affiliated with the Republican Party and is seeking to engage in the political process locally or on a national level.

∗ Rotaract Club: Advisors Dave Claborn at Claborn.17@osu.edu and Wayne Rowe at Rowe.31@osu.edu. This club allows college students to connect with the National Rotary Club and to engage with the Marion community through volunteer service.

∗ Soccer Club: Advisor Dr. Zuheir Alidib at alidib.1@osu.edu. This club provides opportunity for students to play soccer as a club sport.

∗ Sociology and Criminology Club: Advisors Dr. Donna Bobbitt-Zeher at bobbitt-zeher.1@osu.edu and Dr. Marianna Klochko at klochko.1@osu.edu. The Sociology and Criminology Club provides a forum for students interested in sociology/criminology to explore relevant career opportunities and engage in sociology and criminology subject matter.

∗ Social Work Club: Advisors Leslie Beary at beary.4@osu.edu and Teri Kinsway at kinsway.1@osu.edu. This student club is for pre-social work and social work majors who are looking to learn and explore more about this profession as well as ways to embrace differences, seek justice, and be the change in the Marion community.

∗ Spanish Club: Advisor Luzmila Camacho-Platero at camacho-platero.2@osu.edu. The Spanish Club allows students to widen their language skills and celebrate and explore Latin culture through a variety of social activities.

∗ Study Break: Advisor Shellie Shirk at shirk.20@osu.edu. The Study Break is a student publication created by Ohio State Marion students for Ohio State Marion students. The Study Break covers everything from campus events to pop culture to academic issues for students. It also allows writers on the Marion campus to get real writing and publication experience.

∗ Swahili Club: Advisor Zak Nyongesa at Nyongesa.1@osu.edu. The Swahili Club promotes the cultures in which the Swahili language is spoken through food, language skills, and cultural educational events.

∗ Undergraduate Student Government: Advisor Karen Leuthold at leuthold.12@osu.edu. The Undergraduate Student Government serves the administration by offering an undergraduate perspective in matters of campus policy, student activities, and other matters impacting undergraduate students at Ohio State Marion.

∗ Veterans of Marion Campus: Advisors Leslie Beary at beary.4@osu.edu and Sharon Gattshall at gattshall.2@osu.edu. This club offers support and fun activities for veterans who are students on the Marion Campus.


New Student Organizations – Want to start a new student organization? Contact Program Coordinator Karen Leuthold (740–725–6273,leuthold.12@osu.edu) for more information