The Ohio State University at Marion

Mathletes earn $15 k in Marion campus scholarships

Dated: Monday, December 12, 2016

MTC & OSUM host area high school students in annual math challenge
On Friday, December 9th, more than 170 students from 8 north central Ohio area high schools participated in the 6th Annual Marion Mathematics Challenge, hosted by Marion Technical College and The Ohio State University at Marion in Morrill Hall Auditorium on the Marion Campus.

The Marion Mathematics Challenge is a rigorous on-line math competition for students in grades 9-12. Participating schools in 2016 included: Cardington, Elgin, Marion Harding, Highland, North Union, Pleasant, Ridgedale, and River Valley. The top student at each grade level, 9-12 received a trophy and scholarships to Ohio State Marion and Marion Technical College. Those with the second and third highest scores also received a trophy and a scholarship to Ohio State Marion. There was also a team competition, which took the top six scores from each school and added them together. The top three schools in the team competition received a trophy, and the team members each received a medal.

The Ohio State University at Marion awarded a grand total of $9,000 in scholarships and Marion Technical College added an additional $6000 in scholarships, for a total of $15,000 in scholarships awarded.

Presenting awards were Marion Technical College Tech Prep Consultant, Dave Gorenflo; Marion Technical College Mathematics faculty member, Tyler Maley; Ohio State Marion Director of Financial Aid & Institutional Research, Matt Moreau; Ohio State Marion Associate Professor of Mathematics, John Maharry; and Marion Technical College Dean of Institutional Effectiveness, Bob Haas. Special thanks to Wm. Kay Davis Foundation for providing all the trophies and medals.

High School Competition December 9, 2016, Final Results
Individual Awards

Grade 9
1st Place – Izaiah Wiley – Pleasant
2nd Place – Avery Zwayer – North Union
3rd Place – Makayla Yake – Elgin

Grade 10
1st Place- Dalton Skaggs – North Union
2nd Place – Zak Kratowicz – North Union
3rd Place – Kayla Kramer – North Union

Grade 11
1st Place- Isaac Zachman - Pleasant
2nd Place – Mercedes Smith – River Valley
3rd Place – Jason Joehlin - Pleasant

Grade 12
1st Place – Evan Hunsicker - Ridgedale
2nd Place – Phillip Nicol - Harding
3rd Place – Logan Veley -Highland

Team Awards

1st Place – Pleasant
Isaac Zachmann, Jason Joehlin, James Enders, Brett Wilson, Zara Fox, and Drayson Campbell

2nd Place – Harding
Bishop Oldfield, Phillip Nicol, Madison Randolph, Owen Fransen, Camryn Craig, Hannah Dendinger

3rd Place – River Valley
Mercedes Smith, Paayal Vora, Manuel Acuna, Josh Strine, Cort Klingel, Patrick Ravi