The Ohio State University at Marion

About the English Major

Students majoring in English can complete the coursework entirely on the Marion campus. The English major has four main concentrations, three of which are offered at Marion:

  1. Literature
  2. Creative Writing
  3. Writing, Rhetoric & Literacy

These concentrations match the strengths and research areas of our faculty and allow students to take coursework tailor-made to fit their own interests. At the same time, they offer broad training in effective critical thinking and communication skills that translate well into the workplace. For more information on course requirements, prerequisites, course descriptions, and other details, visit the Ohio State department of English curriculum page.

Additionally, students should consult with their academic advisor when planning their schedules. The English major advisor is Shellie Shirk. To schedule an appointment call: (740) 725-6334.