Bowman Named Park District Commissioner

News Release Date: 

Involved in the communities we serve

Ohio State Marion Science Lab Director Carol Bowman, was sworn in Friday, January 7, 2011 for a 3 year term as a Marion County Park District Commissioner. This is her first full term appointment. Pictured above is Judge Fragale conducting the ceremony in his chambers at the County Office Building.

Formed in 1995, the Marion County Park District is a political subdivision of the state of Ohio, serving all of Marion County, including the area within townships and municipalities.  In 2008 the park board expanded to five volunteer commissioners, who serve three year terms. The current commissioners are:

Susan Bruder, Chair
Dan Sheridan, Vice Chair
Tom Bostic, Secretary
Carol Bowman
Ron Scharer

The park district accomplishes much of its work through five committees, for which volunteers are always welcome:

Trail design and development (Chair: Carol Bowman)
Parks and preserves (Chair: Tom Bostic)
Grants and Fundraising (Chair: Dan Sheridan)
Financial (Chair: Ron Scharer)
Public Relations/Planning/Misc (Chair: Susan Bruder)

The park commissioners normally meet once monthly, at noon on the second Thursday of the month, in the Morral Room on the lower level of the Marion County Building (southeast corner). These meetings are open to the public.

The Prairie Parks Foundation is a non-profit foundation set up to receive tax-deductible donations to help the Marion County Parks. Some of the five park commissioners also serve as commissioners for this foundation.