Go Buck$ expands to all Marion County schools

News Release Date: 

Pictured from left:  Ohio State Marion Director of Community Relations & Development Dave Claborn, Ohio State Marion Coordinator of Special Projects Karen Ream, Ohio State Marion Dean & Director Gregory S. Rose, Dr. Scot Gray, Ann Lowe, and Art Lowe.

Art and Ann Lowe have given the gift of education to Marion County school students.  This first gift of $50,000 formalizes the extension of the Go Buck$ program into Marion County and encompasses the four county districts of Elgin, Pleasant, Ridgedale, and River Valley, as well as Marion Catholic Schools.  Awards, in the form of tuition vouchers, will be given to Marion County 7th graders beginning this winter.  The object of the program is to encourage college attendance among Marion County K-12 students and, eventually, to increase the bachelor’s degree attainment rate in Marion County. The Lowes have spearheaded the move to include all students in Marion County, following the success of the Go Buck$ program in the city schools, which was established two years ago through funds established by George Alber.  Dr. Scot & Jenn Gray are the latest to make a substantial donation to the program.  Those interested in helping the Go Buck$ program expand to additional grade levels in Marion County may contact Karen Ream at Ohio State Marion at 740-725-6320.