BuckeyeMail Begins Upgrade June 28
Changes are coming to BuckeyeMail. Beginning June 28, all BuckeyeMail accounts will be transitioned to Office 365 due to a mandatory upgrade by Microsoft. The upgrade will be complete for all users no later than July 5.
You will be able to access your email throughout the entire upgrade window, but it is possible to have up to an hour of downtime while your own account is being upgraded. No messages will be lost.
If you change your password via my.osu.edu during the upgrade, it will not sync with your email password until the upgrade is complete for all users.
If you no longer maintain your BuckeyeMail password via my.osu.edu, you may not be able to log in to your account after the upgrade is complete. If this occurs, log in with your last known my.osu.edu password. If you are still unable to access your email, contact the IT Service Desk at 688-HELP (4357) or firstname.lastname@example.org.
In addition to a new Office 365 user interface, you will have two accounts with the same username (email@example.com) after the upgrade:
1. Office 365 account. This account gives you access to your university email at buckeyemail.osu.edu and is administered by The Ohio State University.
2. Personal Microsoft account. This personal account will give you access to all your existing SkyDrive content, Messenger, and other Microsoft services at login.live.com. The Ohio State University no longer administers this account and cannot reset the password for you.
Changes to one account will not affect the other, so it is possible for each to have a different password going forward. For more information, see the IT Knowledge Base at https://ocio.osu.edu/KB04134.
If you have any questions regarding this upgrade or using your new Office 365 account in the future, please contact the IT Service Desk at 688-HELP (4357) or firstname.lastname@example.org.
NOTE: If you currently forward your BuckeyeMail to another account, your messages will continue to be forwarded. You will notice a delay in receiving emails during the hour that your account is being upgraded.