Board of Trustees

Photo of Anne Spreng photo of Lynn Garvin Photo of Stephen Keen


photo of Stuart Lishan




Board Minutes



Anne Cole was appointed to the Ohio State Marion Board of Trustees in 2010. She currently is the Sr. Vice President of United Bank, Division of the Park National Bank serving Crawford and Marion counties.

An active community member, Ms. Cole chairs the Crawford County 20/20 Vision Committee, serves as Vice Chair for the Bucyrus Community Improvement Corporation, and is an active Bucyrus Rotary Club member.  She is also past president of  the boards of trustees of the Bucyrus Area United Way,  Bucyrus Salvation Army, Bucyrus Rotary Club, and Junior Achievement of North Central Ohio.

A graduate of Colonel Crawford High School, Ms. Cole holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in economics management from Ohio Wesleyan University, a MBA from Ashland University, and a graduate degree in banking from the American Bankers Association.

Ms. Cole resides on the family farm in rural Bucyrus with her husband and son.


Thomas Frericks was named to the Ohio State Marion Board of Trustees in 2014.

Frericks is a graduate of the The Ohio State University College of Law and has been an attorney with the law firm of Frericks and Howard since 1971. He is chairman of the Marion General Hospital Foundation board of trustees and secretary of the Marion Palace Theater Endowment Fund board of trustees. He is a past president of the Marion Rotary Club and former chairman of the Marion county Board of Elections.

He and his wife, Patricia, have three adult sons.

Lynn Oliver Garvin was appointed to the Ohio State Marion Board of Trustees in 2003 and currently serving as vice chair.  Garvin is a native of Bay Village, Ohio, and a graduate of Ohio Wesleyan University, with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Education.

A dedicated community volunteer, Garvin has served on the boards of directors of Junior Service Guild, The Marion Association for Gifted Students, The Marion Education Foundation, The Continuous Improvement Committee of the Marion City Schools, and as Vice President of Harding Music Parents.  She was selected as Volunteer of the Year for the State of Ohio PTA.  Garvin also serves as Chair of the Administrative Council and Lay Delegate of Epworth United Methodist Church. She currently serves on the Regional Club Council Advisory Committee at The Ohio State University. 

Lynn and her husband Charlie have 3 adult children.  In their spare time, they breed and show Dalmatian show dogs, and have bred 90 AKC Champions.  She serves as the AKC Delegate for The Marion Ohio Kennel Club.


Daryl Gates was named to the Ohio State Marion Board of Trustees in 2011  and is currently serving as the chair of the board.

Gates is the president/CEO of Morral Companies, LLC, Morral, Ohio. He serves as the treasurer of Marion General Hospital and the Marion Chamber of Commerce, and is a member of Marion Rotary Club, Marion County Farm Bureau, The Fertilizer Institute and the Fluid Fertilizer Foundation.

He has a degree in finance from The Ohio State University. He and his wife, Valerie, have four adult sons.


David Hypes, D.D.S was named to the Ohio State Marion Board of Trustees in 2012.

Hypes is a two-time graduate of The Ohio State University ('78, '81) and has practiced dentistry in Marion, Ohio since 1981. He is a member of the American Dental Association, and past president of both the Ohio Dental Association and Marion Academy of Dentistry. In addition, Hypes is a member of the American Orthodontic Association and a past delegate to the Ohio Dental Association General Assembly.

Stephen Keen was named to the Ohio State Marion Board of Trustees in June of 2007. 

Keen is Assistant Vice President of First Federal of Ohio, serving as manager of both the Mt. Gilead and Cardington offices.  A resident of Galion, he is involved with several financial literacy programs in the Morrow County area teaching finances and economics in several different local schools. In addition, he is the current treasurer of the Morrow County United Way Board, president of Morrow County Board of DD, past president of Morrow County Kiwanis, YMCA Advisory Board, Morrow County Revolving Loan Board, SBDC Board, Masonic Lodge member, and active member in the Morrow County Chamber.

Keen received an Associate Degree in Business Management from Marion Technical College and is a graduate of Northmor High School.


David Miller was named to the Ohio State Marion Board of Trustees in 2014.

Miller is currently the vice president of operations of OhioHealth Marion Area Physicians. Before that, he served as executive director of the Smith Clinic for 23 years. He is a board member for the Marion Chamber of Commerce and Marion United Way, treasurer of Marion Rotary, and district chairman of Boy Scouts.

He has a degree in accounting from The Ohio State University and is a Certified Public Accountant.

Jessica Moon was named to the Ohio State Marion Board of Trustees in 2014.

Moon has been an associate attorney with Roth & Bacon Attorney's, LLC, in Upper Sandusky since 2010. Before that, she was an assistant city prosecutor in the Columbus City Attorney's Office. Moon is the founder of Wyandot County Young Professionals, Inc. and a board member of WeCARE for Students, Inc.

She received her law degree from Capital University in 2007.

Vaughn Sizemore was appointed to the Ohio State Marion Board of Trustees in 2008. He is a partner in Slob and Sons Pipe and Casing/360 Degree Steel in Marion, Ohio, which provides steel supplies product to major contractors throughout the eastern half of the United States. 

Throughout his career, Sizemore has given extensively to volunteer community efforts in the Columbus area, including Columbus Children's Choir; Regional Director, Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve; Westerville Rotary Club; fundraising for the Columbus Symphony Orchestra; and volunteer work with the Native American Indian Center.

Sizemore is an alumni of The Ohio State University, where he earned his Bachelor of Arts degree in 1976.  He and his wife Pamela are residents of Galena, Ohio, and have two grown daughters.  Pamela is owner of a health services company.

John Maharry is the faculty representative to The Ohio State University at Marion Board of Trustees. He received his B.A. in Mathematics from Grinnell College and his Ph.D. in Mathematics from The Ohio State University. He is currently an associate professor of Mathematics at The Ohio State University at Marion, where he has been teaching since 2004.

His research in structural graph theory is broadly focused on describing structures that arise in graphs and networks and exploiting those structures to answer questions about the overall network. There are applications of this research to computer networks, electrical circuits, social networks, organizational networks, chemical reactions, epidemiology and molecular structures. In particular, Dr. Maharry's research deals with graph decompositions, tree-structures, surface embeddings and minor- and topological-inclusions of graphs. His current project is to show that short-chained, bounded tree-width graphs are well-quasi-ordered under topological inclusion.

Michaela "Mickey" Rogers was appointed to the Ohio State Marion Board of Trustees in 2014. She serves on the board as a representative of the student body.

Rogers currently works in the Academic Enrichment Center as a math and engineering tutor.  She is working on a double major in chemical engineering and Spanish.  Students wishing to contact the student representative to the Board of Trustees may email: